supermomdoesntlivehere

Because motherhood will never be a perfect science

No Super Mom Here

on January 15, 2012

Someone suggested that I start a blog to record the many exploits of my very precocious children. So here I am, finally ready to share some of my many joyful experiences of being a mother.

I have 2 daughters. Diva girl is 4 years old and Baby girl is 1 ½.  They are the light of my life, the apples of my eye, the grey in my hair and the cause of many sleepless nights. I wouldn’t trade them for the world, and I’m not just saying that because my friends refused to take them.

I really think becoming a mom is an amazing experience. Being pregnant for nearly a year and watching not only your stomach but your ankles and sometimes your nose grow to enormous proportions.  Your body does all kinds of strange things and your hormones move you straight into ‘crazy town’. Experiencing the miracle of birth and hopefully the drugs if you’re lucky; holding this beautiful tiny being in your arms and trying to figure out how on earth all that ‘poo’ came out of somebody that small! Realizing that your life is no longer your own, that you now live for a greater purpose and that this kid has you right where they want you for the next 18 years!   For my friends out there that were lucky enough to adopt, they may not have lost their figures, but they’ll end up losing their minds like the rest of us soon enough.  Things will get messy and sometimes break. You’ll worry about fevers, and bruises. You’ll try to find the right words to soothe fears after nightmares, and nervous tummies before their first recital. Puke on your new blouse or a runny nose on your work pants doesn’t even register the way you thought it would. A day without at least a little chaos is probably way too quiet.

I’m learning to laugh at the chaos and be thankful for the stressful moments. It means I’m a mother and it means that my kids are fine. There is no book, manual or DVD that will ever truly prepare you for motherhood. Only life will do that and each day brings a new situation, some to laugh at and some to cry about. But one thing I know for sure is that my home is filled with love, laughter, and constant noise. Okay, and sometimes yelling.

I hope you will join me on my journey through the maze that is motherhood and the many humorous and insightful moments that my children take me through. But if you only remember one thing about me and my life as a mother it should be this…

Super Mom doesn’t live here….and I’m okay with that.

3 responses to “No Super Mom Here

  1. Ariane says:

    Awww. This is such a great start to your blog! I’m happy to see that you’re sharing your talent with the rest of the world. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. I love this! And I can totally relate! Just this past Tuesday I showed up to work with yogurt in my hair. It was irreplaceable. 😉

Leave a Reply

beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

White Camellias

Style . Photography . Life

kristysthoughts

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Create Blog

Bringing you the education you need on blog creation

Women Who Think Too Much by Jeanne Marie

My book, Women Who Think Too Much, is available at smashwords.com

ahealthypursuitblog.wordpress.com/

Live Healthy. Live Happy. Live Free.

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

allaboutmanners

Just another WordPress.com site

A Different Look, A Different Voice.

Discussion Needs to Start Somewhere.

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Tough Bananas

Searching for answers to life's hard questions. Like, "what's that smell?"

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

justanothermanicmommy.wordpress.com/

time it goes so fast...when you're having fun...

Nikewrites Blog

The Official Blog of Author, Nike Binger Marshall

