supermomdoesntlivehere

Because motherhood will never be a perfect science

Mother of Disorganization

on January 20, 2012

I admit it. I am unorganized. I have been for all of my adult life. I never file my papers away properly. I can never find a receipt, although I keep pretty much everything for a lot longer than I actually need it. My home filing cabinet is in shambles, my linen closet looks a lot nicer with the door closed and my sock drawer…well, let’s just say I am unorganized.

One of the things I always heard when I was thinking about having children, was how being organized helped mothers to cope. Especially when faced with taking them to daycare or school and trying to be on time for work yourself. Prepare lunches the night before; plan your wardrobe for the week, etc, etc. It’s not that I didn’t listen, I really did. It’s just that 35 years of being who I am, is hard to break. When I had my 1st child, I was able to fake my way through organization pretty well.  Getting out of the house for work, appointments or social events wasn’t that bad…most of the time. Enter child #2! Now the battle begins! A four year old looking for attention while I chase a toddler with a stinky diaper around the living room only 5 minutes before we need to get out the door. The phone rings and it’s my mother telling me how cold it is outside and I realize that I forgot to check the weather last night and that they both really need to be wearing tights. Why is your shirt wet? Because you spilled your cereal while watching cartoons and forgot to tell mommy? Oh, okay. To top it off, I can’t remember where I left my car keys.

I know it’s my own fault and every day I say, I will prepare for tomorrow, much better than I did today. But I know that my disorganization is like a cozy blanket and I just can’t shake it. So tomorrow will be another adventure and if we manage to leave the house on time, it will be a nice change of pace. A much slower one, since I won’t be dragging a four year old by the hand as we run to get her to her kindergarten door before it is locked up tight. Yes, I promise to do better tomorrow.

Has anyone seen my keys???

One response to “Mother of Disorganization

  1. […] Mother of Disorganization (supermomdoesntlivehere.wordpress.com) This post is in Career, Children, Divorce, Family, Grandparents, Motivation & Inspiration, Parents, Pets, Relationships, Teens, Tips & TricksTags: Family Antics, Parenting, Pets, Relationships, Self-Help […]

Leave a Reply

beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

White Camellias

Lifestyle.Motherhood.Photography

kristysthoughts

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Create Blog

Bringing you the education you need on blog creation

Women Who Think Too Much by Jeanne Marie

My book, Women Who Think Too Much, is available at smashwords.com

ahealthypursuitblog.wordpress.com/

Live Healthy. Live Happy. Live Free.

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

allaboutmanners

Just another WordPress.com site

A Different Look, A Different Voice.

Discussion Needs to Start Somewhere.

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Tough Bananas

Searching for answers to life's hard questions. Like, "what's that smell?"

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

justanothermanicmommy.wordpress.com/

time it goes so fast...when you're having fun...

Nikewrites Blog

The Official Blog of Author, Nike Binger Marshall

