supermomdoesntlivehere

Because motherhood will never be a perfect science

AU NATUREL…?

on June 19, 2012

 

 

So, here I am trying to be conscious of what I feed my kids as well as what I put on their skin. Baby girl has had eczema since birth and I just found out a month ago that Diva girl has apparently developed a mild case. Geez! So, because of this I have been searching for an affordable but natural sunscreen. I say affordable, because when you have 2 kids in 2 different daycare rooms, you need 2 tubes of sunscreen and at $20 -$30 a tube, the natural stuff can really drain your wallet.

I’m just sayin…

I did my research and found a few brands that sounded great. The first problem was finding a retailer and not having to order online. Which I don’t normally mind, but I was under a time crunch since it is required as soon as it starts to get warm (for daycare, I mean). Imagine my surprise when I walked into my local HomeSense and found a natural brand for less than $10! Unfortunately, there was only 1 bottle left, but anyone who has shopped in HomeSense or Winners, knows that when you find something, you better get it right away, because it won’t be there for long. So I bought it! How proud of myself, I was to know that I had procured at least one bottle of a natural sunscreen for the girls! Heiko Sunscreen for Kids (reg. $30 online)! I marched into that daycare feeling very GREEN. Baby girl would not only be protected from the damage the sun could do to her skin, but also from the evil chemicals that the other companies layered into their products! I AM MOTHER, HEAR ME ROAR!

Can someone tell me why my child came home looking like Casper the Friendly Ghost?!

There was a layer of white cream dried into a halo shape around the perimeter of her face and both arms were caked with this natural sunscreen. Why? Why? Why? I asked the teachers. Well, because the darn thing doesn’t rub in, of course! Duh! Apparently when you remove all the garbage that comes in some of the other brands it no longer absorbs into your skin.

Now, I must admit…the first time I saw her, I laughed my head off. She looked as if she’d dunked her head into a bowl of baking flour! Okay, stop laughing! This is my kid we’re talking about here! Yes, I’m smiling, but I’m her mother!!!

Well, luckily the sunscreen I found for Diva girl (couldn’t find any more of the Heiko) was Alba Botanica for Kids and it apparently is a good natural choice too. So far it has rubbed in well and now I’m on the hunt to find another tube, since I did only pay $9!

During my search I have discovered other natural brands, so I’m learning a lot. The Alba Botanica allows the girls to retain their natural complexion, so I think I’ll stick with it for now. If anyone knows of anything that may be better then I will gladly try it out. Let me know!  As long as it doesn’t require my kids to say “BOO!” then I’m happy!

2 responses to “AU NATUREL…?

  1. Your adventures bring back wonderful memories! Thanks for the giggles and keep up the good work! It sounds like you’re an amazing mommy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

White Camellias

Lifestyle.Motherhood.Photography

kristysthoughts

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Create Blog

Bringing you the education you need on blog creation

Women Who Think Too Much by Jeanne Marie

My book, Women Who Think Too Much, is available at smashwords.com

ahealthypursuitblog.wordpress.com/

Live Healthy. Live Happy. Live Free.

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

allaboutmanners

Just another WordPress.com site

A Different Look, A Different Voice.

Discussion Needs to Start Somewhere.

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Tough Bananas

Searching for answers to life's hard questions. Like, "what's that smell?"

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

justanothermanicmommy.wordpress.com/

time it goes so fast...when you're having fun...

Nikewrites Blog

The Official Blog of Author, Nike Binger Marshall

