supermomdoesntlivehere

Because motherhood will never be a perfect science

Ok…So It’s Just a Birthday Party

on May 1, 2016

Yesterday was the first time I actually left the Diva at a birthday party. Yes she’s nine but I come from a world where we just don’t drop off our kids at people’s houses and I am a mom who is not comfortable doing it.  Am I overprotective?  Hell ya. But both my husband and friend encouraged me to let her do this. So that she doesn’t grow up fearful and that she knows I trust her and blah blah freakin blah blah! I get it and I did it. But I surely did ask to come in for a bit so I could survey the surroundings and get a vibe. I talked with the mom and secretly watched my daughter for any discomfort and I was more than ready to drag her kicking and screaming back to the car if I felt the least bit weird about anything. But I didn’t. So I dragged myself back to the car and forced myself NOT to park in front of their house for the next 3 hours.
I had Baby Girl with me and as we left she looked at me and said “We’re leaving her here?”
Sigh…Let’s go kid before I change my mind.
So we went for ice cream…in the area.
We went window shopping…in the area.
We looked for a mother’s day gift for nana…in the area.
Feeling as if my brain was split in two parts as I explored the shops with Baby girl and at the same time wondered if that was my phone ringing (I gave Diva girl mine and her father’s cell phone numbers on a piece of paper ). Did I need to pick Baby girl up and run back to the car to save my child from some disaster?
It’s official…I am the overprotective mom that my mother was. You know…the one I didn’t think I’d be?
Well, Diva girl had a great time, safe and sound ( yes I was the first mom there…Don’t say a word ).
I’m gonna have to do this again aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

beingmommie.com

Sharing my learnings of being a mother

Behind the White Coat

Beats a real human heart...

White Camellias

Lifestyle.Motherhood.Photography

kristysthoughts

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Create Blog

Bringing you the education you need on blog creation

Women Who Think Too Much by Jeanne Marie

My book, Women Who Think Too Much, is available at smashwords.com

ahealthypursuitblog.wordpress.com/

Live Healthy. Live Happy. Live Free.

Addicted to Quippsy

In the not-so-distant future, you'll wish you wrote down everything your kids said. Now's your chance!

allaboutmanners

Just another WordPress.com site

A Different Look, A Different Voice.

Discussion Needs to Start Somewhere.

southfortyrocks

The crazy adventures of South Forty Farms - The Family, The Horses, and the Friends

Tough Bananas

Searching for answers to life's hard questions. Like, "what's that smell?"

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

justanothermanicmommy.wordpress.com/

time it goes so fast...when you're having fun...

Nikewrites Blog

The Official Blog of Author, Nike Binger Marshall

